Skip to content


Parsha Tzav

Parsha Tsav

Parsha Tzav צַ֤ו is the twenty-fifth parshoit of the year reading cycle; it’s also the second of Vaykra. Tzav צַ֤ו is translated as “command”. It is the sixth word in the Hebrew. It can be spelled five different ways: (1) T-Z-A-V, (2) T-S-A-V, (3) Z-A-V, (4) S-A-V, (5) S-A-W

Parsha Tsav Summary

Previously, we see the instructions to the people to bring the offerings קָרְבָּן korban. In Tsav צַ֤ו, Torah turns it’s attention towards Aaron and the priesthood. We will discover their responsibilities concerning the korban services. It begins with the fire on the altars and proceeds through each of the korban. In the end, Aaron and his sons are successful in following the details of God’s commands concerning the acceptable methods of handling the korban services.

Parsha Vayikra

Parsha Vayikra

Vayikra וַיִּקְרָא is the twenty-fourth parsha reading in the yearly cycle; it is the first in the book of Leviticus (Vayikra) וַיִּקְרָא . Vayikra is translated as “and he called”. I have found six ways to spell it – (1) Vayikra, (2) VaYikra, (3) Va-yikra, (4) Vayiqra,  (5) Wayyiqra, or (6) Wayyiqro. They are all correct.

Parsha Vayikra Summary

In parsha Vayikra וַיִּקְרָא we pick up were the book of Exodus (Shemot) ends. This section of text explains the acceptable offerings. We begin with the burnt offering and proceed to the meal offering. We continue with the peace and “sin” offerings. Finally, we will discuss the fifth offering which is called the guilt offering. Our final reading deals with an offering for dishonesty. It introduces the third type of guilt offering. It reveals how monetary misappropriation is a sin towards HaShem.

Vayikra is the first word in the first verse. It is highlighted in red below.