Skip to content


An Exciting New Outline on Shemot | The Book of Exodus

Understanding Exodus / Shemot

Embark on an insightful journey through Parsha Shemot (Book of Exodus) with Umberto Cassuto’s detailed breakdown. Dive into bite-sized sections of English translations, aiding Bible students, Torah readers, and scholars in grasping the essence of this parsha. Uncover the hidden depths of the first seven verses with an awesome teaching. We explore voice of God in the burning bush, God’s name connected to the patriarchs, and the mysterious phrase ‘you are bridegroom of blood to me.’ Delve deeper into these captivating themes and more, gaining a heightened understanding of the profound layers within this compelling portion.”

Watch the Video Below.

The Seven Heavens Bread

The Seven Heavens Bread

The Seven Heavens Bread, Pan de Siete Cielos, is a traditional dairy-based yeast bread served only on Shavuot by the Sephardim.  Like many medieval traditions, the origin of this bread is unknown. Seemingly this tradition has survived the Spanish Inquisition and the Nazi Holocaust. Today, thanks to the internet, it is gaining recognition and Jews are once more serving this wonderful bread.



Shavuot is technically the third festival listed in Leviticus 27. In the Torah it is called, the feast of harvest or the first fruits. In the New Testament it is called Pentecost. In the Postbiblical writings it called by multiple names i.e., feast of the Law giving, Atzeret Shel Pesach, or Zeman Mattan Toratenu.

Shavuot Summary

Shavuot does not have a set date per se. Torah tells us to count fifty days after the Passover Shabbat. In the land of Israel, it is a one-day celebration. In the diaspora it is a two-day celebration.

Parsha Bamidbar

Parsha Bamidbar

Parsha Bamidbar is translated as “in the wilderness”.  It’s the thirty-fourth Torah reading in the annual reading cycle and first in sefer Bamidbar, the book of Numbers. I found five different spellings – “Bemidbar”, “BeMidbar”, “B’midbar”, “Bamidbar”, or “Bamidbor”.

Parsha Bamidbar Summary

Parsha Bemidbar begins with the YHVH telling Moses to conduct a census of the tribes, but the Levites must be exempted. He also provides the information about the encampments around the tabernacle (mishkan). YHVH gives the instructions to the Levites on their services in the mishkan. We discover the redemption of the first-born. It closes with the specific duties of the Kohathites.

Bemidbar בְּמִדְבַּ֥ר is the fifth word and in the Hebrew text (see text below). The hyphenated word is counted as two words.

Parshat Behar-Bechukotai

Parshat Behar-Bechukotai

Parshat Behar-Bechukotai is the third double portion in Leviticus (Vayikra). Parsha behar is the thrirty-second reading in the annual cycle and bechikotai is the thirty-third.  Behar is translated as “on the mount“. I found four different spellings – “Behar”, “BeHar”, “Be-har”, or “B’har”. Bechukotai is translated as “in my laws“. I found four different spellings – “Bechukotai”, “Bechuqotai”, “Bechukosai”, or “Bəḥuqothai”.

Parshat Behar-Bechukotai Summary

Parsha Behar continues the theme of scared time. It discusses the does and don’ts of the sabbatical year (Shemita) and the Jubilee year (Yovel). Shemita and Yovel have very specific details about the land, debts, and indentured servants.

Parsha Bechukotai closes the book of Leviticus. It discusses the blessings and curses based upon the actions of Israel. It ends with the instructions concerning vows and the consecration of people and property.

To discover more about this week’s double portion. Hit the button below.

Parsha Naso

Parsha Naso

Parsha Naso is translated as “take a census”. It’s the thirthy-fifth Torah reading in the annual reading cycle and second in sefer Bamidbar, the book of Leviticus. I found two spellings – “naso” or “nasso”

Parsha Naso Summary

Parsha Naso opens by continuing to explain the responsibilities of the Levites. Then it moves on to discuss three topics. Firstly, it describes the test for the woman accused of adultery (sotah). Secondly, the Nazirite vow. Finally, it teaches the priestly blessing.

Parsha Naso ends with the list of the gifts from the tribal leaders.

Naso נָשֹׂא is the first word and in the Hebrew text (see text below).

Parsha Emor

Parsha Emor

Parsha Emor אֱמֹר‎ is the 31st reading of the annual reading cycle. Emor is translated as “speak”.

Parsha Emor Summary

Parsha Emor begins by enumerating the holiness standard for the priests and the offerings. The previous sections explains the holiness standard for the whole Community of Israel. However, the standard for the priests are even a higher level. Also the standard is even higher for the high priest. This is due to the proximity they have to sanctuary. We proceed and concluded with the high holy days.

Emor אֱמֹר‎ is the fifth word in the Hebrew text.